Click to Home
Explore Greenwood
Go To Search
Planning Commission
About the Commission
The planning commission may consist of no less than 12 members, appointed by the mayor and confirmed by a council majority vote. Ex-officio members include the board of supervisors of the county, the city engineer, the county engineer, the city building official, the manager of Greenwood Utilities, and a representative of the Greenwood-Leflore County Industrial Board

The commission designs and presents to the council a master plan for the physical development of the city, including these elements:
  • Street system
  • Transport and transit
  • Housing
  • Parks and rec
  • Public schools
  • Cultural and public buildings
  • Long-range water supply and storage
  • Sewage and solid waste disposal
  • Sewer system
  • Flood control
  • Expansion of corporate boundaries of the city
  • Finance
  • Zoning problems
  • Proposed regulations regarding the subdivision of land

The commission also advises on other matters, brought to its attention by the mayor or city council, concerning the orderly development of municipal land.

  • Vacant, Ward 1
  • Charles Wright, Ward 2
  • Lillian Catching, Ward 3
  • Mable Whitker, Ward 4
  • Lewis Freeman, Ward 5
  • Martha Ellen Williams, Ward 6
  • Adlena Crockett, Ward 7
  • Barbara Biggers, At Large
  • Moxie Gary, At Large
  • Dale Riser, At Large
  • Mary Carol Miller, At Large
  • Tony Roberts, At Large

Members serve three-year terms. Terms expire January 1.

If you are interested in applying for a vacancy, you may apply online or contact the Office of the Mayor for an application form. 

Meeting Information 
Meetings held the fourth Thursday of each month at 4:30 pm on call.

Planning Commission Review
To bring a matter to the attention of the Planning Commission, please fill out this application and deliver it (along with supporting documents and a $101 filing fee) to the Community Development office 19 days prior to the next meeting.