Colleges & Universities

Mississippi Valley State University

Mississippi Valley State University is located within Leflore County.  The university features the College of Art and Sciences, College of Professional Studies, College of Education, and Graduate School courses.  Their most notable alumni is Jerry Rice.

Valley State Logo

Mississippi State University

Mississippi State University is a comprehensive doctoral research university with very high research activity is a located 70 miles from Leflore County.  The land grant university serves more than 20,000 students.  It features the following colleges: College of Agriculture & Life Sciences, College of Architecture Art and Design, Colleges of Arts and Sciences, College of Business, School of Accountancy, College of Education, College of Engineering, College of Chemical Engineering, Honors College, College of Forest Resources, College of Veterinary Medicine, and the School of Human Science.

Mississippi State logo

Ole Miss

The University of Mississippi is an R1: Doctoral University- Highest Research Activity is located 70 miles from Leflore County.  The state’s largest university serves more than 23,000 students.    Ole Miss features the following colleges: School of Accountancy, School of Applied Sciences, School of Business Administration, School of Education, School of Engineering, College of Liberal Arts, Graduate School, School of Law, School of Pharmacy, School of Journalism and New Media, General Studies, School of Dentistry, School of Health Related Professions, School of Nursing, School of Medicine, and the School of Graduate Studies in the Health Sciences.

Ole Miss Logo

Delta State University

Delta State University is a regional public university located 40 miles from Leflore County.  Delta State features the following schools: College of Arts and Sciences, College of Business, College of Education, and School of Nursing.

Delta State Logo

Mississippi Delta Community College

Mississippi Delta Community College which has a location in Greenwood serves over 3,000 students.  It provides 2-year and technical degrees in the following programs; Business, English, Fine Arts, College Prep, HPER, Law Enforcement, Math and Science, Social/Behavioral Sciences and Humanities, Automotive Machinist, Automotive Mechanics, Brick Block and Stone Masonry, Construction Equipment Operations, Culinary Arts, Electronics, Field Crops/Agricultural Business and Management Technology, Heating and Air, Industrial Electricity, Machine Tool Operations, Office Systems, Welding, Accounting Technology, Biomedical Electronics Technology, Computer Networking Technology, Drafting and Design Technology, Healthcare Data Technology, Precision Agriculture Technology, Dental Hygiene Technology, EMT, Associate Degree Nursing, Health Care Assistant, Medical Lab Technology, Phlebotomy, Practical Nursing, and Radiologic Technology.

Mississippi Delta Community College Logo
College Map